Nathaniel the Tarantula

A little while back I wrote about my boy’s awesome idea for this year’s Halloween costume. I am pleased to report that, through a collaborative process, his idea developed from conception to the real thing.

Kids tarantula costume

BIG spider…

AND he’s a finalist in a halloween photo contest!

Vote for The Tarantula to win this contest in two easy steps:

1. View the great photo of our spiderific creation by Tangerine Photography.

2. Click LIKE to vote for The Tarantula.

Thanks for your support.

Here’s how it all started…

Kids tarantula costume sketch

5 Comments

  1. Chris Verge said,

    November 7, 2012 at 10:25 am

    Hi Karen, your costume creation looks totally cool. Unfortunately I’m not on Facebook right now so I can’t vote for it. Maybe I’ll re-join

    temporarily just to vote and then suspend my membership again…

  2. Marlene Overlin said,

    September 13, 2014 at 8:16 am

    Hi there! I’m far too late to vote in the contest but I hope your little boy won. What a great costume! My son came to me yesterday and told me he wants to be a tarantula for Halloween this year. After browsing the Internet for a quick second, he found this picture and that was it. THIS is what he wants. Would you possibly be willing to email me with any tips/tricks/etc. to get this done for him? We would so greatly appreciate it!!!

    Thanks in advance!
    ~ Marlene
    Overlin51@Gmail.com

    • simplcity said,

      September 13, 2014 at 3:02 pm

      Hi Marlene, thanks for your comment! I’d be happy to send you an email and answer any questions you have. Last year, my son was a pirate – this year he wants to be a shark. I’ll make sure to update the blog!

  3. Courtenae said,

    October 9, 2014 at 10:56 am

    Any chance you still have this costume lying around and you’d like to sell it to get it out of your way? My son requested to be a turantula this morning and I’m not very crafty, and I’m a fifth grade math teacher, so I certainly don’t have time to make something.

    • simplcity said,

      October 9, 2014 at 3:47 pm

      Yes, we do still have the costume. It’s a size 4-5. It may be hard to pry it away from my son, but there’s no way it fits him anymore. Email me and we’ll discuss it.


Leave a Reply

